What have I been up to?

The last two weeks seem to have flown by and yet I’m not quite sure what I’ve actually achieved during them.

I had a lovely weekend up in London, visiting my sister and buying pretty baubles in Liberty.

Last weekend was a quiet, not doing much of anything weekend. I didn’t even write.

This weekend has been a little fuller. I’ve done my tax return and worked out that the government owes me £10. I have done a ton of writing and I’m now willing to admit that the ‘short story’ I’ve been working on may be closer to a novella. Hopefully it’s actually a short novel because those in-between things are impossible to sell, or so I’ve been told. I’m planning to fiddle about a bit with a website later and I’ve got lots of knitting done.

Yesterday, just to get myself out and about despite the nasty weather, I wandered down to the local second hand bookshop.  No Chalet School books, sadly, but I did look in the classics section and picked up Cider With Rosie (I read excerpts at school and loved them so I hope the full book is just as good) and Tolkien’s Unfinished Tales because I’m on a Tolkien kick and I’ll want something when I’ve finished The Children of Húrin.

Torchwood finally started this week and I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Last year, it didn’t really pick up until episode five and there were still at least two duds in the second half of the season. This year, despite some definite weaknesses in the actual plot, the episode was great fun and thoroughly entertaining. It seems to have been a huge hit with the fans as well. I think injecting a bit of humour and letting the characters be a bit more likeable has helped.  Last year, even Captain Jack was difficult to like and he’s one of the best things to come out of new Doctor Who! Hopefully this trend will continue and the series will be thoroughly enjoyable 🙂

Leave a Reply

