Tea at Claridge’s (and yarn trawls)

Oops, I haven’t posted here for longer than I thought. I could have sworn that I cross-posted a few more things than I apparently have…

And while I was away, WordPress has updated the Dashboard! I quite like it already – all the bits I check every time (including my stats) are right there without me needing to click lots of links. Only time will tell whether I continue to like it or whether it actually drives me insane, but so far I like it.

Anyway, onto the actual meat of this post.

Yesterday was the day that I did tea at Claridge’s with Mum and Sis. It’s one of the items on my list of Things To Do list this year. We combined it with a trip to John Lewis on Oxford Street for yarn finding and it was a wonderful day out.

I have never drunk so much tea before in my life! I may never sleep tonight 🙂 The waiters and waitresses seemed to believe that if your cup was empty, they weren’t doing their job right. Heh. We must have had at least ten cups of tea each, no kidding. But was gorgeous. Mum had Claridge’s Royal Tea and Sis and I had Claridge’s Perfumed Tea. It was truly scrummy tea, slightly spiced with a beautiful scent.

There were enough sandwiches to sink a battleship (the smoked salmon and chicken ones were particularly fine), followed by scones with jam and clotted cream and finished with French pastries. I am absolutely stuffed and it was all amazing. I felt like a princess with all those waiters and waitresses falling over themselves to be kind and courteous to us.

The yarn expedition was also successful. I now have some beautiful Rowan Cashsoft Aran in lovely rich purple which I plan to use for some fingerless mittens, some wool for a hat for a friend and a pattern book that I want to make everything out of. My sister’s Christmas present has already been decided on – a cute cardigan from the new book. Mum picked up the wool for a new cardigan for herself and some wool for a tea cozy from the pattern book that is just adorable. There was so much wool! So many colours! So many types! I hadn’t realised there were that many yarns in the world! I now see why Mum gets so frustrated by the local yarn shops.

All in all, a fabulous time was had by all and my only regret is that I can’t do that every weekend 🙂

This evening I have plans to watch the Bafta TV awards with a big bowl of popcorn and make a start on my new mittens. I’ve been playing with a couple of new cast on techniques this afternoon and I’ve fallen in love with the cable cast-on because it’s just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

