Skype disappearing

Skype keeps disappearing on me. I’d call it a crash, except there is no error message or warning. The program loads up, logs in and five seconds later it disappears completely from the screen, the icon tray and even Task Manager. It doesn’t stay up long enough for me to make any changes to anything to see whether that helps or even start a call. It just…goes away.

I’ve been Googling and searching through the Skype forums but I can’t find any solutions. The only references to the problem that I’ve seen had notes to say that nobody had been able to fix it, even by un-installing and re-installing.

The problem has only been there since Skype updated to version 3.8 (the latest) so I was hoping that it was a bug with the version, but nothing.

Can anyone out there help me? I was planning to use Skype a lot to keep in touch with people after my move but I can’t do that if the thing is going to be this buggy! All ideas and suggestions would be gratefully received before I tear my hair out.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mlc
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 04:55:25

    My friend is having the EXACT same problem. And also searching for answers. PLEASE please let me know if you find an answer to this.

    Reply

  2. archerygirl
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 19:53:48

    I ended up uninstalling and going back to using v3.6, which I had lurking in a folder thankfully. The official word is that “this is a problem with Windows XP SP1, please download SP2 from Microsoft and everything will be fixed”.

    Hmm.

    I will admit that I had been using SP1 and had never done the upgrade, so I can’t comment on whether that’s the best solution. It’s something worth checking, though. If you are on SP2 and it’s happening then I suggest reporting it to Skype. You also could try going back to an older version to see whether than fixes it, but obviously that’s only a solution if you have an older version lurking around!

    Reply

  3. Annie Chnag
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 06:28:06

    I have the same problem. I searched for a long time, and cannot find anything yet.
    I have tried several different versions. They all lead to the same result, except for 1.4version, which is too old for me cause it will not automatically load in my contact persons’ information.
    I will keep searching. If you find anything, please also let me know. Thank you.

    Reply

  4. archerygirl
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 20:21:23

    Annie: The answer that I got from Skype was that this is a known issue with users running the latest version of Skype on Windows XP with SP 1. Upgrading to SP2 should fix the issue.

    As I have just moved overseas and bought a new laptop with Windows Vista, I’m afraid that I cannot confirm whether that solution works. It’s something worth investigating if that sounds like it might help.

    Reply

  5. russell dunn
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 16:00:36

    I am having the same problem. Skype keeps disappearing. I am running XP Pro SP 3. I keep reinstalling Skype as I use it to stay in touch with my family out of town. If someone learns a solution, please let me know.

    Reply

  6. katherine roberts
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 13:49:57

    Having the same problem and, yes, I’m running SP1. I was already planning on updating to SP2 though, so I will try that and let you know if it solves the problem.

    Reply

  7. Ben
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 09:38:29

    I have this problem on Vista, help anyone?

    Reply

  8. Becky
    Aug 04, 2010 @ 00:26:36

    I am on Vista and this just started happening to me today.
    It just disappears from everywhere. I don’t get it!!
    I though at first it was my anti-virus, so I restarted and it comes for a bit and then goes. I called my friend and he said I still appear green online. No help really when I can’t even get the app to display.
    Gees you really thought more of this than a big company like skype

    Reply

  9. rajat
    May 30, 2011 @ 01:16:07

    i am also having the same problem , can anybody let me know what to do for this annoying problem?

    Reply

  10. Rick
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 20:00:19

    Same thing with me. I just installed it, used it once just as a test (and struggled to get it going). And then when I went back to the computer later, it no longer existed on my hard drive — just the “front page” saying to “click here” if you wanted to install it. The icon on the desktop also just led to that front page, instead of starting the program. So I’ve installed it over and over, and it never is available again when you sign back in. I’m on Windows Vista.

    Reply

  11. Wayne Joyner
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 16:32:58

    Well… here it is December 18th (My Birthday) and I have been having this problem since yesterday. I believe it may be a update sent out by Microsoft. They had one of those (2) two days ago to run their Malicious Software program update. Skype has not worked since then.

    Me personally. I’m going to back-out Microsoft’s update and turn off automatic updating. I use Skype everyday to talk with my Dad back in VA.

    Wayne Joyner
    Soldier, IA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

