Canada Days 2 and 3 (the shopped out edition)

The last two days have involved shopping, more shopping and then for a change, some more shopping.

I’m shopped out and there’s still a ton of stuff to buy!

On Monday we ordered a TV stand and the office furniture. Most of that will be delivered today, except for the desks which aren’t due until next week. But then neither are the computers, so it’s not a disaster. Today will also see the arrival of our dining room table (phew! The card table is very worrying due to a pronounced wobble) and a chest of drawers for my sister’s room. This will mean that I can finally unpack some of my cases and put things places. Living out of suitcases is already driving me crazy because I can never find anything. I would kill for a nail file right now – I have at least two packets somewhere in my luggage.

The one thing I have found is my yarn, so I’ve cast on for the beautiful cardigan that my sister wanted for Christmas. It’s looking great so far πŸ™‚

Yesterday’s big purchase was a new car. On Monday, I will be the proud owner of a Honda Fit.

It’s going to be paid for on the monthly installment plan to the Bank of Mum and Dad. Beautiful car, it should be very good and reliable but I am slightly worried because I have never spent that much on a vehicle!

Apparently I’m only going to have 30 days to get my Nova Scotia driving license, so today I’ll be getting myself a driver’s handbook and trying to find someone to give me driving lessons. Eeep! Today I’m also going to the bank to sort out my address change and a checking account so that I can actually buy and pay for things myself. It will be nice to have access to cash again.

It’s all been rather exhausting, but things are starting to take shape at the house and I’m only having brief moments of panic. We were all tired and snapping and irritable last night so I’m planning that we’re going to have an actual day off over the weekend before we kill each other.

The Internet gets hooked up tomorrow (yay!) and my father has his laptop with him, so I’m hoping that we’ll have some Internet access from tomorrow. Our new computers will arrive at the start of next week. I’m starting to suffer from severe Internet withdrawal πŸ™‚ Mostly, I’m feeling rather cut off at the moment because the TV hasn’t been set up yet (too much builder’s stuff in the main room), we have no radio and without Internet I’ve got no idea what’s going on in the real world.

Damn, I’m way too much of a news junkie to be this long without access to TV or the BBC News site.

And now I’d better let my father have the computer before he explodes from Internet withdrawal as well.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nic
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 11:43:44

    Ooh, just seen on the LT feed you have Tennis Shoes – I keep meaning to read the rest of the ‘Shoes’ books – I might have to add that one to my list of books to read when I visit you πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Chrissy
    Aug 14, 2008 @ 14:59:17

    Missing you 😦

    Reply

  3. archerygirl
    Aug 15, 2008 @ 19:48:36

    Nic: I just finished it and loved it, so feel free to add that to your ‘to be read’ pile when you visit πŸ™‚ I’m looking up some stuff on VIA (the train company) and I’ll see if I can visit the station for you when I’m in the city next week.

    Chrissy: Missing you, too. Hopefully I’ll have stuff set up to actually talk to you within the next few days. You still haven’t sent me your Skype details yet! *shakes finger*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

