It’s a date

Last night I got a call from Best Friend in America (BFIA). She announced earlier in the year that she’s getting married and I couldn’t be happier for her. We’ve known each other for more than half our lives and, even though we haven’t lived in the same country for ten years, she’s still my best friend.

Strictly speaking, I have three people that I’d consider my closest, best friends but BFIA has a special place in my heart for many reasons. It’s great to finally be on the same continent.

Anyway, the call was to invite me to her wedding (d’uh!) and then ask me to be her bridesmaid.

I can’t believe that I actually teared up over that, but I did and babbled something about yes and of course and I feel so privileged. I really do feel honoured because this is such a special, important day for her and she wants me to be a part of it.

The practicalities still need to be worked out, but on the weekend of June 13th next year I will be in Aspen watching my BFIA get married and probably crying bucketloads.

In fact, I’ll hopefully get to see her married twice over because she’s having a Hindu wedding on the Friday (for her fiance) in addition to her white wedding on the side of a mountain.

OMG, I sm so excited!

Leave a Reply

