As first days go…

The good news is that I didn’t have the urge to hand in my resignation when I got home and I think the job is going to be OK.

The bad news is that I tried to fill out my three thousand forms with the HR girl, whipped out my social insurance card…only to find that it wasn’t there. I keep it with my passport in a brown wallet because I’m always being asked for that stuff right now for bank accounts, health cards etc. Yesterday I had it out while I filled in a drug plan form. I did that at my desk, I had my bag next to me at the desk so there is no reason to think that it was anywhere else.

When I discovered the missing card I muttered something about ‘probably left it on my desk’ and the HR girl let me off until tomorrow. Except that I’ve torn apart my desk and bag this evening and still can’t find it. Ack!

The only thing that I can think of is that it fell out of the wallet when I was trying to sort everything out this morning so it’s on the floor somewhere in the room where I was filling out forms. Hopefully someone has handed it in. I’ll go to see HR tomorrow and explain, asking whether it has been handed in, and asking what I should do if it doesn’t turn up. Being stupid, I didn’t make a note of it anywhere because obviously I wasn’t going to lose that very precious card. Eeep!

I’m trying hard not to let panic overwhelm me at this stage *sigh*

So although it was a relatively successful first day (certainly better than my last one), it’s rather overshadowed by my stupidity. Damn.

The weird thing is that when they say 36.25 hours a week, they apparently mean it. Don’t stand in the door when 4.15pm rolls around, you’ll get stampeded. My supervisor couldn’t quite understand why I was surprised to be chucked out at my finish time. Huh. So I’ll probably be home by 5pm most days. It’s going to take some adjusting to get used to working such short hours after three years with my previous employer. Those hours can’t be real, can they?

Leave a Reply

