State of the House

Why does my back hurt more from shovelling three inches of snow than it did from shovelling 1 foot?

I am working from home today. My winter driving skills are not up to driving down an unploughed hill with a drop into the ocean at the bottom. It’s a good thing because I thought that I’d clear off the car when I finished shovelling and discovered that all the doors are frozen shut. As it is -2C out there without the wind chill, I don’t think it will be melting soon. I’ll have to call my aunt and find out how to rectify this problem. I’m not sure that blindly swilling boiling water around will be helpful, somehow.

And why is there all this snow, may I ask? It wasn’t in the forecast!

My weekend was pretty good. Saturday was bright and sunny and gorgeous and I remembered why I love it out here as I drove out and watched the sun sparkling on the ocean.

I finally got over to the city to do some exploration of Spring Garden, which was great. I found the grocery store that sells British imports and bought some decent tea, some Twiglets and a few other odds and ends. It was hard, but I resisted the temptation to buy Walkers Sensations Sweet Thai Chilli. However, I reserve the right to be weak later πŸ™‚ I also bought a Honeycrisp apple and finally understand why everyone raves about them. Best. Apples. Ever. There is a bigger edition of this store about 30km away so I may take a drive out on Saturday to stock up on amazing produce and see what else they carry.

Saturday evening was a pot luck and decorating session at my church. The adults sang carols while the kids played with ribbons and baubles πŸ™‚

Sunday was quiet, apart from an emergency trip to the yarn shop when I discovered that my cable needle has gone missing. My parents were visiting an uncle and got him set up with Skype so they used me as a guinea pig. It was so much fun! I always loved visiting with them so it was great to see them and hear all the insanity and chatter.

Now I’m contemplating more tea while I wait for some scripts to run. I really need to get to the post office today, now that the roads have been cleared, but first I need to break into my car.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hellcat
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 09:22:55

    My boyfriend is in love with Yorkshire Gold tea from Pete’s πŸ™‚
    And yes-Honeycrisp are the BEST apples!!!!

    Reply

  2. archerygirl
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 08:47:34

    Yorkshire Tea is the best tea. Proper, strong tea – I haven’t found a Canadian blend that is quite the same yet so I’m very happy to be able to get it at Pete’s despite the price!

    I never thought that I could fall in love with an apple πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Melissa A.
    Dec 12, 2008 @ 23:59:40

    You can buy a lock de-icer stuff probably at any department store. I bet even the grocery stores sell it, Canadian Tire, etc.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

