Update on the parental units

The bad news is that they won’t be here tomorrow.

The good news is that they will be here this week.

We managed to get them flights on Continental via Newark that get in at midnight on Tuesday. My sister is now arriving at midnight next Sunday (21st) rather than mid-afternoon the following day. They all fly home on the same day as the original plan, but six hours earlier which makes that day a lot more complicated to arrange. I’m supposed to have a rheumatology appointment that day and the cats are getting spayed so me driving them to the airport is looking doubtful.

Still, they’re going to be here for Christmas and that’s the important part. I’m pushing Mum to make a formal complaint about the bit where they didn’t tell them about the cancellations.

We can’t do anything about rearranging the rental car until tomorrow, but we’re getting a cab sorted out for them because they won’t let me pick them up from the airport. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they can get the rental sorted otherwise my car will be the only transport and they’ll have to take me to and from work if they want to go anywhere during the day.

We’ll see.

I’m just glad that we’re still getting the Christmas we planned and Mum will still see her brother. It’s probably going to be her last chance to see him and I couldn’t bear the idea of her grief if she hadn’t got to see him.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa A.
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 13:36:29

    That’s so weird they didn’t tell them of the cancellation. My flight to Norway was cancelled weeks ahead, so they called me and I just rescheduled (2 days earlier).

    Reply

  2. archerygirl
    Dec 15, 2008 @ 13:46:26

    It’s the bit that’s really got us infuriated. We could have re-booked the flights much more easily if we’d known a couple of weeks ago – hell, Air Canada could have just put them on a different flight! – but nobody contacted my parents and so we found out less than 24 hours before they were due to leave, at which point AC had no alternate flights to offer before Christmas.

    It appears that they changed the schedule, reducing the number of flights per week to London, at the beginning of the month so that’s at least two weeks ago. Instead we find out now and have to do a mad scramble to find another airline that can get them here without needing to mortgage the house. Not impressed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

