New Year quiz thingy gakked from everyone

For once, I actually have enough writing under my belt to do one of the writing New Year memes, but I haven’t seen any about and this one actually made me think a bit more.

1. Will you be looking for a new job in 2009?
No. I’d like to get settled properly before going back on the job market and the economy isn’t exactly one to encourage job hunting right now.

2. Will you be looking for a new relationship?
Probably not, although I won’t be quite so averse to one if something comes up this year.

3. New house?
Not this year. Perhaps in 2010. Maybe. It depends on when my parents retire and want their house back.

4. What will you do differently in ’09?
I won’t move continents. I want to explore my new home a bit more and be more organised about the housework so that I have more free time at the weekends. And I really want to write more, particularly getting Sensible Man into shape.

5. New Year’s resolution?
I don’t make them so that I don’t have the lurking guilt about breaking them.

6. What will you not be doing in ’09?
I won’t move continents again. And I probably won’t work for my ex-employer again.

7. Any trips planned?
I plan to visit England in Feb and go to Redemption while I’m there. In June I’ll be going to Aspen for my best friend’s wedding and then I’m thinking about England again for Christmas.

8. Wedding plans?
Not for me. But I am down as bridesmaid at Best Friend in America’s wedding this year πŸ™‚ And I have another friend getting married, although she hasn’t decided whether it’s November or December. I’m hoping for the weekend before Christmas so that I can actually go to it.

9. What’s on your calendar?
This year’s was a very bad Lord of the Rings video game calendar. Blech. 2009’s will be a lovely LotR movie calendar that I’m very pleased about finding. My desk diary is Doctor Who and it has lots of Donna piccies πŸ™‚

10. What can’t you wait for?
Not sure. The last two weeks have taught me not to get overly-invested in things because external factors will always interfere.

11. What would you like to see happen differently?
I’d like to be more organised so that I have more free time and I’d like to get settled here properly.

12. What about yourself will you be changing?
Not much, unless the hairdresser talks me into a new colour.

13. What happened in ’08 that you didn’t think would ever happen?
I climbed a mountain πŸ™‚

14. Will you be nicer to the people you care about?
I’ll try to be. I flake out on people too much.

15. Will you dress differently this year than you did in ’08?
Probably not, although I will need to replace things that are looking hideously old before they fall apart.

16. Will you start or quit drinking?
My two units a month are just right, I feel. Heh.

17. Will you better your relationship with your family?
The distance is making me appreciate them better.

18. Will you do charity work?
Possibly.

19. Will you go to bars?
If I can find a really great pub…

20. Will you be nice to people you don’t know?
I always try to be.

21. Do you expect 2009 to be a good year for you?
I’m hoping that it will be less stressful. A lot of 2008 was great, but that’s clouded by a lot of stress as well so hopefully 2009 will be more relaxed and happier.

22. How much did you change from this time last year till now?
A lot. Moving to a completely different country on a different continent does that to a person.

23. Do you plan on having a child?
No.

24. Will you still be friends with the same people you are friends with now?
Hopefully, yes. I’d also hope to make more friends around here next year.

26. Will you be moving?
Not on your life.

27. What will you make sure doesn’t happen in ’09 that happened this year?
I’ll try not to set my expectations as high and learn to go with the flow a bit more so that I don’t get disappointed when plans don’t work as I wanted.

28. What are your New Years Eve plans?
Due to the blizzard we’re going to have, I hope to be tucked up in my house with my parents and sister.

29. Will you have someone to kiss at midnight?
Er, no. That would be wrong (see above).

30. Wish for 2009?
2008 has been a tough year for so many people that I know, so my wish is that 2009 is a better year for everyone. Financially it’s going to be a tough year due to the recession, but I hope that it’s not as bad as predicted. I hope that at this time in 2009 I can look back and think it was a really great year.

Leave a Reply

