Trapped

Snow, topped with ice pellets and then topped with freezing rain forms an impenetrable barrier that is impossible to shovel.

How do I know this? Well, the company that was supposed to be coming out to plough me today has a funeral and possible pneumonia (WTF?) and so cannot come out. I just slithered (very carefully) down my back steps, around my house and up my front steps so that I could chip the front door open. The ice on top of the snow held my weight, that’s how well frozen in I am. And now I don’t have anyone coming to free me, either. The company they suggested I call hasn’t called back even though I left the message an hour and a half ago. Apparently the companies my original guys called to help won’t come out for an itty bitty driveway when there are lots of nice big commercial contracts to do.

Even pulling out the disability card didn’t work.

Can I cry now?

The only thing that I can think of is to go out and try to clear it all in stages, but my wrists are already sore from chipping out my front door and steps. Looks like I won’t be going out tonight after all because it could take me the rest of the week to get myself out of here.

I knew it was too good to be true that I might not have to do much shovelling this time around *sigh*

Leave a Reply

