The side-effects of the book diet

Last night I finished the book I was reading (Cast in Courtlight by Michelle Sagara, enjoyed it muchly thank you) and therefore needed a new book to read.

Now, when I went on this book diet it was largely because I needed to curb the number of books entering my house. 23 in three months? Not good. The side-effect of this is that I unconciously decided that I should not do any re-reads until the book diet is over and that promise to myself has become stronger as the weeks go by.

If I’m not re-reading, then the logical thing is to use this time to get a handle on the to be read pile of doom. No library, only unread books from my personal stash. Thus my dilemma last night.

I think that I know why I buy stuff. I wandered along the shelves picking things up and thinking about them and putting them down because none of them really called to me at that moment. A couple of books did appeal, but they were second books in the series and I need to re-read the first ones to remind myself of what’s happening. Thus they were disqualified. I wasn’t in the mood for Martha Wells (sorry) or Laurie Lee or Trudi Canavan.

Eventually I identified what I did want to read: Temeraire! But that would be a re-read. Drat. And then Patrick O’Brien caught my eye. He’s one of the reasons that I tried the Naomi Novik books in the first place, it’s got the needed action and adventure with a hint of epicness but not world-ending epicness. No dragons, but big sailing ships are almost as good and I am rather fond of Aubrey and Maturin.

I’m now a third of the way through Desolation Island and I’ve finally got some clues about why I buy so many books. Hoorah for me!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vondeleigh
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 10:49:04

    Haha. I promised myself for the new year that I would venture onto the paths of the unknown: Books I bought which I have yet to read. I don’t know why, but last year I found myself spending money recklessly on books, but not reading them. So I myself have started afresh and am currently reading Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire by Amanda Foreman. 🙂

    Reply

    • archerygirl
      Apr 16, 2009 @ 07:28:47

      People can never understand how we can buy books and not read them, but it seems to happen now matter how hard we try!

      But at least we have the joy of going into the unread pile and pulling out some unexpected gems 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

