Surprisingly fun Saturday

I was sort of slightly dreading today, because I’m totally shattered and I needed to get up early to get the car down to the dealership to change my tyres from winter to summer. And then I needed to get something ready for a pot luck lunch tomorrow at church, plus do my usual chores and sort something out for supper with my aunt tonight. Far too busy and exhausting for a tired person!

It’s actually turned out to be a fabulous day. Hooray!

This morning I got up, went down to the dealership and took my current sock project with me. So I got to spend a couple of hours relaxing in a nice room in the sunshine with a cup of (free!) coffee and some knitting, which put me into a great mood. Then I needed to pick up some odds and ends that I couldn’t get last night at my regular supermarket. I didn’t make the mistake of going into the huge Atlantic that I hate with the fiery passion of a thousand suns. That always ruins my mood. Instead I ventured into the big Sobeys that opened a couple of months ago and actually quite liked it, as supermarkets go anyway. It’s like my usual little Sobeys, exactly the same layout, but a bit bigger with some extra varieties of things such as prepared pasta. Got the ground pork I needed (more later) and some chicken wings.

I was smart this time. I bought ready-split wings because the extra dollar is totally worth the lack of stress and the time saved πŸ™‚ Most are going into the freezer, the rest are supper on Monday πŸ™‚

Then it was off to my favourite local yarn store where I had a nice long Doctor Who chat with L who works there and picked up some nice yarn and some Addi circs that I need. OK, I treated myself to a skein of sock yarn as well as buying the stuff I needed but I totally planned for that πŸ™‚

Lunch was some gorgeous chickpea salad and dill potato salad that I picked up at the speciality grocery last night. Yuummy.

The pot luck for tomorrow is sorted. I’m doing Peking Pork Bites in the slow cooker. This is a recipe that I’ve wanted to do ever since I got my recipe book and now I get to play! I’ve done double the recipe because the neat thing is that I can cook up the pork balls and freeze the ones I don’t need for another day πŸ™‚ They were so easy to do and the second batch is browning off in the toaster oven as I type. I’ve got some of them in the slow cooker for supper tonight so that I can try them out on my aunt, some will go into the freezer for another day (just mix up the sauce, tip the lot into the slow cooker and turn on – lovely) and the rest will be for the pot luck. When I get up tomorrow I just need to whip up the sauce, put the pork and sauce into the slow cooker and turn it on. Then I can transport the slow cooker to church and plug it in when I get there to finish off while the service is on.

If the taste is as good as the smell, this is definitely one I’m doing again. Even though I’ve had to brown off the pork balls in the toaster oven, it actually feels easier to prepare than the beef stews.

The laundry is almost done, just putting the sheets through the tumble and the cleaning is done. I feel relaxed and happy, it’s sunny outside and I’m going to have a nice evening with my aunt. I even have an hour to sit with a book now. My horrible Saturday has actually turned out to be a great Saturday πŸ™‚

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nic
    Apr 19, 2009 @ 16:50:42

    Ooh, so do your summer tyres mean that the weather’s more spring-like over there?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

