Finding my knitting groove

I have the horrible feeling that I’ve finally worked out what kind of knitter I am and it’s not the nice, easy kind of knitter who works on small projects in chunky yarn.

My mum is a cable knitter. She doesn’t mind what weight the yarn is (although she prefers aran or DK), but she wants cables in her patterns. The more complicated the cable, the happier she is. Hats, mittens, sweaters, it’s the complexity of the cable that gets her interested. Currently she’s bouncing about the gorgeous cable jumper that she’s working on, the one that I took one look at and vowed not to even consider.

I can cable, I’ve done my fair share of cables and I wouldn’t automatically run from a project with a tiny bit of cabling in. It’s just not something that I like to do a huge amount of.

My sister is still working out what she likes, having worked mostly with thinner yarns and lacy patterns so far but also having some thicker yarns queued to play with. I’m quite enjoying the seeing the process as she develops her style.

I’m coming to the conclusion that I’m a sadistic knitter who enjoys making large items from skinny yarn. Yeah. I’m happy to tackle complicated lace (in lace weight) although I don’t think that’s my ultimate favourite. That stuff requires sealing myself away from all distractions and even then my mistake rate is high. What I really like is beautiful drapey fine garments, possibly with a pretty stitch pattern although I’m almost finished with a tunic in moss stitch and I’m still really enjoying it. Yes, even after several billion rows of moss stitch.

My next project is another fingering-weight thing with a lacy pattern that looks like it should be easy to memorise. I’m actually really excited about it.

At knitting on Thursday someone let me look through Knit So Fine, a book filled with beautiful patterns done in fingering-weight yarn. This, for the uninitiated, is the weight of yarn that I use for socks. Anyone remember the socks that I was making at Redemption? Yes, that weight of yarn. I want to make three-quarters of the book, it’s been added to my wishlist and the only trouble will be deciding which thing to make first.

I do have an aran wieght sweater in my queue that I plan to tackle for the winter and I’m sure that I’ll love making it, but apparently it’s the fine knitting that I really get excited about.

That’s me. Sadistic knitter. Or is it masochistic knitter? Whatever. My mum will be cheerfully cabling away in one corner while I’ll be cheerfully knitting sock yarn into sweaters, tunics and halternecks on 2.5mm needles while my more sensible knitter friends look on with horror.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hellcat
    May 30, 2009 @ 07:53:52

    Hahahaha That would have been me. 😛 Sorry!!!!!!But I just knew you’d love it to pieces!

    Reply

    • archerygirl
      May 31, 2009 @ 12:16:15

      I adored it completely – you know me too well! But thank you, because I’m going to love making stuff from it when my queue is shorter 🙂

      Tunic is nearly done!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

