February books

Apparently I revert to being stupidly English when surprised by spam phone calls at my workplace. As an aside, how did a company get my number to tell me that I’d won nine thousand shares in something stupid in the first place?

Anyway, I reverted to type. Yelled: “The bloody cheek of it!”

And slammed the phone down.

Now my co-workers are giving me funny looks. Possibly from the yelling, but judging by the IMs (WTF cheek? sums them up) probably from the language. And I’d made so many strides. I was even describing everything as awesome like a good little North American. Ah, well, can’t win ’em all.

It’s been a while since I did an update. I’ve written posts, but never seem to remember to actually post them. Need to get better at that. However, February is over so I think it’s time to post this month’s books:

The Chalet School in Exile – Elinor M. Brent-Dyer: I’ve read the Armada paperback, but this was the Girls Gone By re-print using the full manuscript. It’s the Chalet School, so of course I enjoyed it. The material that was restored definitely makes this a smoother read, despite there still being an annoying gap where EDB doesn’t give me Joey’s wedding, and I’m glad that I’ve finally been able to read it.

Storm Front – Jim Butcher: Everyone has been recommending the Dresden books to me recently so I finally picked up the first. Lots of fun, quite light and I’d quite like to read some more.

The School at the Chalet – Elinor M. Brent-Dyer: I’m on a bit of a Chalet School kick. It’s great to go back and read where it all began. I’m just trying to ignore EBD’s inconsistent character aging…

Old Man’s War – John Scalzi: I’ve been hearing about this one for years so I thought it was time to give it a try. Loved it! Great characters and an interesting idea that was explored well. Best of all, it kept me diving back for more every time I had a spare moment. It’s nice to see a book that has one basic idea done well and pays attention to things like characterisation and invention. Too many books seem to try to skim several ideas, never really giving anything the depth it needs, and sacrifice character to the demands of the ideas. I’m definitely going to be looking for more Scalzi.

Storm Glass – Maria V. Snyder: This is the first in a promised series of books featuring Opal Cowan. Opal appeared in her first series of books and she was an interesting character, so it’s nice to see her return. Snyder gave some good hints about the world she created and we got to explore it a bit in her first books, but here she’s got lots of scope to explore and takes every bit of it. I love Opal, I love that Snyder lets her admit that she causes some of her own problems and I love the unsual magic she’s exploring. It’s a book that was hard to put down.

A couple less than January, but I was also madly knitting for the Ravelympics project so this is still a respectable haul. All of the books were a great success and kept me highly entertained: I’d recommend every single one of them. I’ve really got to get out there and spend the Chapters voucher that I have sitting in my purse. This will require thought to make sure that I buy winners rather than things that suck. When I have vouchers, I always make a point of buying something from at least one author that I haven’t tried yet. It can be so difficult to wander out of the comfort zone of familiar authors, particularly if you’ve had a few disastrous impulse buys, but you have to do it or you’ll eventually run out of books. Time to hit Amazon and explore recommendations and reviews, I think, so that I can hit Chapters with a list of things to look for.

If anyone has some suggestions for really great YA books that I might not have tried yet (I’m up for anything that doesn’t have vampires in including teen angst ala Ann Brashares) that would be awesome.

Leave a Reply

