Doctor Who 5.05: Flesh and Stone

I am honestly not sure where to start. That was really rather brilliant πŸ˜€


First up, the Angels for some reason weren’t quite as scary this time although I did jump when they suddenly came through that airlock near the beginning. Perhaps I’m getting used to them? At the same time, Amy counting down was eerie. It was inserted so that I thought I was mistaken the first time and then I wanted to shout at the Doctor for not noticing.

I thought Karen Gillan did an excellent job with all of it. Wonderful performance.

When the Doctor left Amy alone with the clerics, I knew that it wasn’t going to end well (it never does), but I hadn’t predicted what would happen. That crack in the wall hasn’t grown before – looks like things are getting worse – and I didn’t realise at first what was happening. When Pedro offered to take a look, I thought it was a mistake. Then Amy asked about the other two chaps and it started adding up to a very nasty number.

Why is that kind of thing, people being forgotten, so frightening?

The hints about River keep coming. I have the sneaky suspicion (probably shared by the rest of fandom) that the man River killed was the Doctor. There are still a lot of questions left unanswered, mostly about who the heck she really is, but I’m getting the feeling that she’s intimately involved with whatever we’re building to.

The Pandorica is a myth? Perhaps a Gallifreyan myth?

Even as the Doctor noted that it would take all the Angels to equal one of him, I hadn’t quite twigged to what he planned or how he intended to get them all shoved through the crack. Nice neat solution that one.

I suspect it’s that final scene that’s going to cause massive speculation all week. I had a feeling that Amy would tell him about her wedding eventually so it’s a relief to finally have it out there. Clueless Doctor was fabulous. His horror at her being human and it just not working and OMG how can she see him that way was utterly adorable πŸ™‚ I’d been a little worried when I saw the kissing clip and noticed the crush, but I’m not worried anymore.

There is something going on here that isn’t what it seems. Amy is not Martha 2.0. In fact, it looks rather like Moffat is taking all the RTD stuff and writing a counter to every single one of the things that irritated fans. Whatever is going on, I’m pretty sure that we aren’t going to be seeing the Doctor and Amy setting up house and having little Time Lords. In fact, I rather think that the Doctor suspects that something has been done to Amy to have her behaving this way.

And I rather think that he’s right.

Loved his commentary on Rory πŸ™‚

That scene was just brilliant, though. Although someone really needed to watch the continuity a bit better because those braces kept moving without anyone interfering. It was slightly distracting.

I saw a comment this week that it looks like Amy stole Lynda Day’s wardrobe for this story. Anyone who watched Press Gang will know what I mean when I saw “er, yup, that’s exactly what it looks like!”

I can’t wait to see the speculation on this episode. Between the crack, River, all those hints about the future, and that final scene we’ve got enough to talk about to keep us going for weeks. Thank goodness we only have to wait seven days.

A very long seven days.

Next week’s preview looks awesome πŸ˜€

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. B.B.
    May 02, 2010 @ 08:25:50

    Alright – I wasn’t going to watch it – out of protest at “Victory of the Daleks” – but you’ve convinced me otherwise.

    Reply

    • archerygirl
      May 03, 2010 @ 09:52:33

      The Weeping Angels two-parter is really very good and worth watching no matter how you feel about Victory.

      After all, Victory wasn’t written by Moffat and so far, Moffat hasn’t let us down with his writing. I think that I’m one of the few who doesn’t mind Victory much (I watched the last series of Robin Hood to the bitter end, Victory was definitely better than that) but the last two episodes have been the best so far.

      Reply

  2. B.B.
    May 03, 2010 @ 10:51:50

    Moffat’s an awesome writer, although I feel that he’s struggling to keep producing new ideas as amazing as he came up with in the past – it can’t be easy to match e.g. the Blink episode, which was an all-time perfect piece of television. And he managed to recreate, and surpass, the “Aliens” style awesomeness of meeting an army of monsters in the last episode.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

