I aten’t dead (still)

I could talk about all the reason that I’ve been largely absent from the Internet for the last couple of weeks, which include (but are not limited to) the Tour de France, the on-going kitchen renovation and the length of time it takes to prepare meals, the weather and the writing that I’ve been doing.

I could talk about that.

Or I could talk about the books that I’ve read in May and June instead:


May books

25. Death Due Jour – Kathy Reichs
The second Temperance Brennan novel, but the first for me. I picked it up because I know that it inspired the TV show Bones (which I love) although it’s not a book-of-the-show thing. I enjoyed it far more than I thought that I would. It’s completely different from Bones and I really need to dig into how on earth they came up with Bones from it! This Tempe is older, a bit wiser and a fascinating character. Importantly, the mystery really works and Kathy Reichs puts in lots of lovely forensic science details without being overly-graphic or dry in her descriptions. Going to be looking out for some more!

26. Castle of Wizardry – David Eddings
It’s impossible to start a re-read and not finish a series.

27. Monday Mourning – Kathy Reichs
Another Temperance Brennan story, this one much further through the series. I think that I’ll be collecting these and reading in order, because the characters grow and develop through the books and I felt like I’d missed some crucial things. This one had lots of lovely forensics, a good mystery, and Reichs made both locations come alive as I read.

28. Enchanters End Game – David Eddings
I had to read the last one in the series. I’d forgotten how much I love these books. It’s odd how much more vividly I remember the final couple of books where the first couple were more vague in my memory until I re-read, but perhaps that’s because the final ones are always the last that I read? Anyway, I’ve loved doing this re-read and getting to visit old friends again.

29. Grave Peril – Jim Butcher
The ‘vampire’ Dresden book, but it’s one that is setting up a lot of things that carry through into the next few books. I’m not really a vampire girl, but this one was great and added lots of interesting ideas about the different Vampire Courts and the relationship of the fairy realm to everything else, which is good because the next book…

June books

30. Summer Knight – Jim Butcher
It’s the fairy story for Dresden. And these ones, thankfully, are rather more like the old fairies from tales rather than the pretty Disney kind of fairies. Lots of fun things in this one with a great bit of mystery and some interesting exploration of the way that Dresden’s wizard society functions in the modern world.

31. Death Masks – Jim Butcher
This one is an interesting mix of religion, magic and scary demons that was quite compelling. Butcher is gradually expanding and exploring the societies he’s created and it was great to get a better idea of what the Knights of the Cross (Sword? er, can’t quite remember) do and what their function is in this world. I get the feeling that some of the bad guys introduced here will be cropping up again and I’m looking forward to the next couple of books.

32. Wizards at War – Diane Duane
With a new Young Wizards book out, I needed to do a re-read of the last one so that I didn’t spend half the book trying to remember what had happened. I’m going to need a full Young Wizrds read soon, I suspect. This one gets pretty dark in places and it reminds me of why I think Duane is a fantastic kids author. She doesn’t shy away from difficult ideas, presenting them instead in a fictional setting that gets you thinking a bit. Her magic is brilliant because the wizards need to know about science in detail in order to work, it’s not just waving hands around and saying magic words. I kind of love the idea of magic that requires a study of the world around you to work correctly.

33. A Wizard of Mars – Diane Duane
Kit has had an obsession with Mars for the last few books, so this one was always going to come and I’m loving it. There’s adventure and, for once, Kit and Nita aren’t entirely in tune which reflects the ages they’re reaching. Anyone with any curiosity about space has probably got a soft spot for Mars – I’ve certainly aways wanted to know whether there was life there and what it was like – so we can understand Kit’s fascination. At the same time, we can understand Nita’s caution as events unfold. My only slight disappoint is that, apart from a few cameos, Dairine is largely absent and I’m hoping that the next book gives us a bit more about Dairine’s work both magically and in her search for Roshaune.

34. Guardians of the West – David Eddings
I thought that I was done with Eddings, but I ended up needing to start the Mallorean. Oops. This one always frustrates me a bit because the first few chapters are from Errand’s point of view and, frankly, he’s not a particularly interesting character. He’s also a child and misses a lot of the interesting bits. Thankfully Edding eventually switches back to a focus on the more interesting characters, although this one is a bit fragmentary and largely a set-up for the other books in this series. It’s one of those books that would have sunk like a rock if it hadn’t been published on the back of the success of the Belgariad, which would have been a shame because the rest of the series is great. You just have to get past this one to get to the good stuff.

The numbers are because I have joined a challenge on LibraryThing – reading 75 books in 2010. So I’m numbering to make it easier to keep track of the number of books that I’ve read. Hopefully this will encourage me to read a bit more from the to be read pile (mountain) but the threads in the group are filled with amazing book suggestions and my book wishlist is growing exponentially.

Ack.

However, I am determined that this year will include a few classics so I have rescued “Turn of the Screw” from under the TBR pile to be my next read. My classics collection is ridiculously small, though, so I may need to order a few things…

I really have to get myself some new bookcases when the kitchen is done. Perhaps I also need to stop shelving like a librarian, so that it’s easier to find space when new things come in. I seem to like a lot of authors beginning with B, L and M and those sections of the shelves are getting insane. The Agatha Christie binge last year didn’t help. Or perhaps, when the heat dies down, I should spend an evening sorting out my existing bookshelves…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rob
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 10:42:59

    Nice Granny Weatherwax quote.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

