2012 Mixing it up challenge

Next year, I plan to take part in Ellie’s Mixing it up Challenge. It sounds like it should be fun!

If you’re perusing Ellie’s page right now, I’m planning on aiming at the Mixing Bowl, probably going for 12 categories. This is going to be the place-holder until I can get more details put in 🙂

Edit January 2 2012: Added categories and potential reads!

Edit March 2012: Added Romance book read!

1. CLASSICS

Candidates:  The Woman in White, Twenty Years After

2. BIOGRAPHY

Candidates: Henry VIII biography, William Rufus biography

3. HISTORY

Candidates: Many potential ones, including Medieval Intrigues (Ian Mortimer), the book on the history of the Church 200-1000AD that I got for Christmas, Britain in the Middle Ages (Frances Pryor), The Templar Knights in Britain (Evelyn Lord)

4. MODERN FICTION

Candidates: Need to find something for this

5. GRAPHIC NOVELS AND MANGA

Candidates: So many to choose from!

6.  CRIME AND MYSTERY

Candidates: Possibly Case Histories (Kate Atkinson). I read a lot of mysteries so I’d like to use a new author/series for this one

7. ROMANCE

Candidates: The Secret Mistress (Mary Balogh), No Proper Lady

Done! Review: The Secret Mistress by Mary Balogh

8. SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY

Candidates: So many!

9. TRAVEL

Candidates: A book that a friend gave me about a journey from Scotland to Canada or may Eccentric Guide to Oxford

10. POETRY AND DRAMA

Candidates: Wilfred Own

11. SCIENCE AND NATURAL HISTORY

Candidates: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

12. CHILDREN’S AND YOUNG ADULT

Candidates: So many to choose from!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 09:11:05

    Hi Kathy! I didn’t even know you had a blog, how rubbish is that? I’m well chuffed you’re doing the challenge with me though… 🙂

    Good luck – and happy new year!

    Reply

    • archerygirl
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 11:54:12

      As my blog is rather sporadic, I’m not surprised you didn’t know that I had a blog! I’m looking forward to taking part in the challenge 🙂

      Happy New Year!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Mixing it up challenge: Romance « Of Code and Cats
  3. elliepotten
    Apr 10, 2012 @ 11:49:46

    One down, woohoo! I have to admit, I’ve been neglecting my challenges (even my own) quite shamefully so far this year. Maybe now I’m over my reading slump and finally getting to the end of my enormous library pile, I might actually get stuck into some of my own books at last and start ticking off some titles! 🙂

    Reply

    • archerygirl
      Apr 27, 2012 @ 09:43:06

      I should really log into this blog more often…

      I’m sure that I’ve read stuff that qualifies for some of the categories, but actually updating stuff and being conscious of whether I’m reading for the challenge? Not so much…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

