Cooking plans and foodblogs

This weekend I’m doing a bit of cooking and, as one of the recipes is from a foodblog and I had the link stored in Delicious, I have been doing a bit of spring cleaning in my Delicious account. Er, I may have added a lot of recipes…

Anyway, something that I’ve never played with before in Delicious is stacks. I’ve been using Delicious to store my recipe links because the ability to tag links with all the potential ingredients that I might want to search by is awesome and I like being able to add comments if there are particular things that I need to remember a recipe for. Being able to find all the recipes that call for buttermilk, for example, makes it so much easier to figure out how to use up all the leftover buttermilk I end up with because the stores sell it in such ridiculous sized cartons.

It’s a problem, I won’t deny. There is a reason that my freezer was, at one stage, groaning with buttermilk biscuits.

Stacks are quite neat because they allow me to group some of my links together in a new way, almost like a mini webpage. So I had some fun and created a stack for the recipes that I’ve tried and loved (see here) and another stack for recipes that I’m planning to try imminently (see here). I was even able to put them into the order I’m thinking about them in.

So if you take a peek at the recipe planning stack, you’ll be able to see the caramelized apple tart that I’m planning to make this weekend. No Braeburns were in the store yesterday (possibly the first time I’ve not been able to find them!) so I’ll be substituting a Honey Crisp. I know from experience that those caramelize nicely when I use them to bake with pork, so I have high hopes. Next weekend I’ve got some goastcheese and chive cornbread muffins earmarked, which may be a nice option as part of my lunches for work. I’m also going to take advantage of the rhubarb that’s appearing to make some rhubarb struesel muffins. The spicy roasted chickpeas have me intrigued and I’m always looking for something to snack on that’s good for protein but not too high in fat.

My other plan for this weekend is tuna lasagne. I love lasagne and I’ve been making a tuna one for years, but it’s the kind of thing that’s too fiddly to really be fun regularly. I may happily re-heat a portion to eat on a second evening, but that’s my limit (I’m not a fan of repeat meals) and it doesn’t freeze well. So my plan is to make the filling tomorrow and split it in two. Half will go into a two portion lasagne and the other half will go into the freezer. I’m quite happy to make a cheese sauce and slap filling in a dish with lasagne sheets, but making the filling each time when it’s just for me…er, no. I’m lazy and love being able to pull things out of the freezer to reheat or quickly assemble.

Leave a Reply

