I have a confession

I’m having a bit of a comics addiction right now. The lovely Comixology app for my iPad is entirely to blame: the comics look amazing and it’s so easy to just press ‘Buy’ and download new things.

Not that I’m complaining 😀

I tried a few times in my teens and early twenties to get into comics but the lack of availability (no local comic shop, WH Smith usually only had one or two issues out of each run and then a series would disappear) and lack of knowledge on where to start made it pretty near impossible.

The Internet makes it pretty easy to figure out where to start with different series and I even now know about comics outside the standard DC/Marvel superhero arena. Marvellous!
Having an app on my iPad where I can buy things and, most importantly, get old of older issues on all sorts of things is what did caused my descent. It’s great to know where to start and which writers’ runs are particularly good in any given line, but being able to actually buy those issues? Priceless.

The library is reasonable for getting hold of some of the collections of things like Y: The Last Man, The Unwritten, Locke and Key but not quite so helpful for specific bits of X-Men.

Last week I had a wee bit of a binge because several of the New 52 DC lines that I follow all come out in the same week, a Marvel book that I’d been looking forward to arrived and a new line, Saucer County from Vertigo, finally started.

Yeah, I spent most of the weekend reading comics. I’m loving Batgirl, Nightwing and Stormwatch from DC. The first issue of Saucer County addicted me. The Marvel book? Less impressive. It was the X-Men book from their Season One series, re-telling the origin stories of a lot of their major lines, and it fell rather flat for me. I love X-Men. Adore it. Am finally getting to read some of the older stuff (such as Joss Whedon’s run on Astonishing X-Men, which is phenomenal) and had been looking forward to a re-tell of the earliest stories.

Ah, well, can’t win them all I guess.

I had been saving volume 3 of Astonishing X-Men for a rainy day and decided that it was a good thing to clear the disappointment from Season One.

And now I really need volume 4.

Also, someone mentioned that Gail Simone’s run on Birds of Prey is amazing and as I’m loving her Batgirl work…

Yeah, I’m getting rather addicted. Drat.

Leave a Reply

