I believe my reaction was ‘squee’

I am an enourmous dork. And a huge geek. I know, it’s a shocker. Nobody was expecting that.

That would explain why I was rather incoherently squeeing all over Twitter Saturday evening after seeing The Avengers. Hint: I loved it rather a lot. I’m even considering a second viewing, which is something I rarely do (I’ve only done it for Star Trek in 2009 and Return of the King, which I racked up 4 trips to).

It is also why I have spent the last two days in a whirl of LJ, Tumblr and Twitter rather than actually doing any useful reading.

It’s also why there are several Avengers books on hold at the library (I suspended them until June 1st when I sobered up and remembered that I’ll be going on vacation just as they arrive) and why I conducted a small Comixology raid for Avengers stuff. Oops? At least they were on sale?

Comixology: one of my favourite iPad apps. This week there are new issues of Batgirl and Demon Knights, by the way, so my poor iTunes account will be getting another workout.

Normal service will resume when my Avengers squee has worn off a bit. Hopefully.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. macoafi
    May 11, 2012 @ 13:47:24

    Did you see the “Hawkeye: Worst Archer Ever” article on Wired? An archery coach reviewed his technique.

    Reply

    • archerygirl
      May 11, 2012 @ 14:12:07

      Multiple friends sent that article to me 🙂 It was pretty spot-on and I was wincing several times at things that he pointed out, having done those things to myself at some stage! For the most part I was able to ignore the archery fails in the movie because it was such a fun movie, but I do recall flinching a couple of times. Jeremy Renner’s arm had to be a mass of bruises half the time. Yikes.

      I’m hoping that for the next movie, someone will get him some coaching so that the experience is a little less painful 😀

      Reply

      • macoafi
        May 11, 2012 @ 14:14:39

        Given I’m dealing with new-archer-elbow-bruises right now, I don’t want to know how his arms looked after all the “lets do that scene again”s that must’ve come up over and over in making that movie.

        Reply

      • macoafi
        May 11, 2012 @ 14:15:32

        (I also found the article useful for getting tips on what to watch for at the next practice)

        Reply

        • archerygirl
          May 11, 2012 @ 14:20:14

          It was a pretty good article, particularly the way that it explained things and how to avoid doing those things.

          My most impressive time was when I’d been shooting for two years, so should have known better, and lost concentration. My guard is one of the long ones that goes from mid-upper arm to my wrist and I still managed to string myself above the arm guard so badly that I bled.

          To this day, I still don’t know how I managed to not make any noise when that happened. Ow!

          Poor Jeremy Renner. Poor make-up artist who had to hide those bruises.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

