Hugo pre-read: Feed

I’m not normally a horror reader and as zombies are usually a horror thing, I can’t say that I’ve ever deliberately sat down to read a zombie book. I get the feeling that this one isn’t typical for the genre and I surprised myself with how much I enjoyed it.

Another book that I needed to read before I could read the Hugo nominated book, this time in preparation for Deadline by Mira Grant.

Feed – Mira Grant (review)

After the dark, slow pace of my previous read this was a refreshing change. I’m not normally a horror reader so I’ve never read zombie novels. This is the first part in the Newsflesh trilogy, the second part of which has been Hugo-nominated and so I felt that I needed to read this for completeness. The story moves along at a great pace and the characters – particularly George and Shaun – feel real and alive as you read about them. The reader is thrown into a world twenty years in the future, where a zombie plague has changed many of the ways that the world functions and is a part of daily life in more ways than I ever could have imagined. The focus of the novel, however, is on media and politics so it never felt like a traditional horror novel. It would not be possible to tell this story without the zombie element because it dictates so much about how and why the characters are doing what they are doing, but the zombie plague is not the main focus. Despite being an avowed horror and zombie avoider, I genuinely enjoyed this book and I am looking forward to reading the next one.

Leave a Reply

